A CLOCKWORK ORANGE. Anthony Burgess, John Anthony Burgess Wilson.
A CLOCKWORK ORANGE.

A CLOCKWORK ORANGE. London, Melbourne, Toronto: Heinemann, [1962]. Octavo, boards. First edition. First binding of black boards with spine panel stamped in gold. The author's most famous book and a cornerstone of twentieth-century British fiction. "A compelling and often comic vision of the way violence comes to dominate the mind, the novel is set in a future London and is told in a curious but readable Russified argot by a juvenile delinquent whose brainwashing by the authorities has destroyed not only his murderous aggression but also a deeper-seated sense of humanity (typified by his compulsive love for the music of Beethoven), It is an ironic novel in the tradition of Yevgeny Zamiatin's and George Orwell's anti-utopias." - Clute and Nicholls (eds), The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction (1993), p. 175. Anatomy of Wonder (2004) II-190. Berger, Science Fiction and the New Dark Age, pp. 69-72. Pringle, Science Fiction: The 100 Best Novels 36. Survey of Science Fiction Literature I, pp. 396-401. A fine copy in fine first state dust jacket with price "16s / NET" at lower right corner of front flap. An excellent copy and quite uncommon in this condition. Enclosed in custom quarter black leather traycase. (#111875).

Price: $9,500.00

Printing identification statement for this book:
"First published 1962" on copyright page.