WHOM GOD HATH SUNDERED: A TRILOGY. London: Martin Secker, 1925. Octavo, original red cloth stamped in gold. First collected edition. A collected edition of this psychological thriller combining IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE EVIDENCE (1912), THE DEBIT ACCOUNT (1913) and THE STORY OF LOUIE (1913) with content rearranged and slightly modified to form a single narrative of nineteen chapters. The author adds a two-page preface recounting the composition of the three novels, all written within the space of a year. "Outside the fantasy genre Onions is best-known for his grim, unrelenting character novels, especially IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE EVIDENCE (1912), a murder mystery, and THE STORY OF RAGGED ROBYN (1945), which creates a nightmare landscape of the seventeenth-century Lincolnshire marshes and often challenges the reader to distinguish between reality and fantasy." - Clute and Grant (eds), The Encyclopedia of Fantasy (1997), p. 709. "Not detection, but a minor classic of crime. The background, planning, and execution are told in the first person, which unfolds the sufficient motive." - Barzun and Taylor, A Catalogue of Crime 1667. Hubin (1994), p. 615. NCBEL IV 690. A bright, tight, clean, very good or better copy. (#118822).

Price: $100.00

See all items in Mystery & Crime
See more items by ,
Printing identification statement for this book:
No statement of printing.