SINISTER HOUSE. Leland Hall, Boylston.

SINISTER HOUSE. Boston and New York: Houghton Mifflin Company, 1919. Octavo, pp. [1-8] [1] 2-226 [227: blank] [228: printer's imprint] [229-230: blank] [note: last leaf is a blank; no blank leaf precedes half title leaf], four full-page illustrations by Haydon Jones, original pictorial gray boards, front and spine panels printed in green. First edition. Variant issue with full-page illustrations integral to text leaves, not on inserted plates, and blank leaf at rear, rather than front. Psychological ghost novel; Lovecraft praised its "touches of magnificent atmosphere" while deploring its "romanticism." Nonetheless a sophisticated treatment for its time, clearly in the tradition of Henry James and Edith Wharton, though the morality is more simplistic. Bleiler, The Guide to Supernatural Fiction 754. In 333. Bleiler (1978), p. 91. Reginald 06666. Smith, American Fiction, 1901-1925 H-82. Small name and address label of former owner affixed to front paste-down. Corner tips worn, two light stains to rear cover, a very good copy. (#150974).

Price: $250.00

See all items in Ghost Stories, Supernatural
See more items by ,
Printing identification statement for this book:
No statement of printing.