MODERN SCIENCE FICTION. Boston: Gregg Press, 1976. Octavo, pp. [i-iv] v-x [i-vi] vii-viii [ix-xi] xii [xiii] xiv [1] 2-540, cloth. First hardcover edition, first printing (limited to 251 copies). A presentation copy with signed inscription by Spinrad to influential F&SF critic, editor and publisher David G. Hartwell, the coeditor of the Gregg Press Science Fiction Series, on the title page: "For David Hartwell / with gratitude & best / wishes / Norman Spinrad." Text offset from that of the 1974 Anchor Books edition. New introduction by Thomas D. Clareson. A major historical anthology collecting twenty-one stories by twenty-one writers including Isaac Asimov, J. G. Ballard, Alfred Bester, Arthur C. Clarke, Ursula K. Le Guin, Michael Moorcock, and others. An important collection, not only for its excellent selections, but also for its critical apparatus providing a "revisionist" interpretation of the history and development of modern SF. Anatomy of Wonder (1987) 13-38. A fine copy without dust jacket as issued. (#154819).

Price: $350.00

See more items by
Printing identification statement for this book:
"First Printing, June 1976" on copyright page.