(#172366) THE YELLOW PEOPLE OR QUEEN OF SHEBA'S TOMB: A STORY OF ADVENTURE IN CENTRAL AFRICA. Margaret Peterson, Ann.

THE YELLOW PEOPLE OR QUEEN OF SHEBA'S TOMB: A STORY OF ADVENTURE IN CENTRAL AFRICA. London: John F. Shaw (1928) & Co., Ltd., n.d. [1930]. Octavo, pp. [1-6] 7-320, inserted frontispiece with illustration by J. C. B. Knight, one full-page map in the text, original decorated light blue cloth, front and spine panels stamped in black. First edition. There are at least two issues (printings?) of this book, one with three inserted plates with illustrations by J. C. B. Knight, the other with just the inserted frontispiece, this being one of the latter. Boys' lost race adventure novel in the tradition of Haggard and Burroughs; one of the protagonists is an "ape boy" raised from infancy by gorillas. Locke, Spectrum of Fantasy, p. 175. Bleiler (1978), p. 157. Reginald 11417. 1939 prize label affixed to the front free endpaper. A nearly fine, bright copy in 3/6 chipped and torn pictorial dust jacket. An uncommon book. (#172366.

Price: $250.00

See all items in Lost Race
See more items by ,
Printing identification statement for this book:
No statement of printing.