(#171423) SINISTER HOUSE. Leland Hall, Boylston.

SINISTER HOUSE. Boston and New York: Houghton Mifflin Company, 1919. Octavo, pp. [1-8] [1] 2-226 [227: blank] [228: printer's imprint] [note: first leaf is a blank preceding half title leaf], four inserted plates with illustrations by Haydon Jones, original pictorial gray boards, front and spine panels printed in green. First edition. An author's copy with publisher's printed author's "compliments" slip affixed to the front free endpaper. Psychological ghost novel; Lovecraft praised its "touches of magnificent atmosphere" while deploring its "romanticism." Nonetheless a sophisticated treatment for its time, clearly in the tradition of Henry James and Edith Wharton, though the morality is more simplistic. Bleiler, The Guide to Supernatural Fiction 754. In 333. Bleiler (1978), p. 91. Reginald 06666. Smith, American Fiction, 1901-1925 H-82. Perhaps a family copy, signed Amy de G. Hall in pencil above the compliments slip. A newspaper review is affixed to the front paste-down. Corners and spine ends lightly worn, a very good copy in a worn and torn pictorial dust jacket. A nice copy of a scarce book rarely found in a jacket in any condition. (#171423).

Price: $550.00

See all items in Ghost Stories, Supernatural
See more items by ,
Printing identification statement for this book:
No statement of printing.